DATE, TIME AND DEPARTURE

 

Saturday, July 4th, 2020

Race starts at 4 am

UTCC runners’ Village, RV parking, route 14, near the discovery and service center of the Gaspésie National Park.

SATURDAY, JUNE 4TH 2020

LA GRANDE TRAVERSÉE (111 km)

La Grande traversée is UTCC’s queen of challenges. With a trail cumulating 5700 meters of positive vertical, this race is one of the most difficult circuit in North America. This round-trip trail is semi self-sufficient. You will have to cross nine summits, most of them over 900 m of altitude.

INFORMATION

 

Round-trip semi self-sufficient trail including 8 aid stations, within which 3 of them are solid and liquid equipped. First aid teams will be waiting there too. Other 1st aids teams will be place all along the route.Volunteers will be at the other aid stations with water and other resources.

18 years old +

 

Distance: 113 km

Vertical: +5700 m

Maximum number of participants:

100

Route:

 

Beginning and end of the race at the Village. Racers start by climbing to the Mont Albert’s summit (1088m), pass by its plateau at the top and then climb down by the south face to get to the checkpoint La Paruline. After that, they take the direction of Mont du Milieu (950m) and Mont Ells (1000m) and get to the checkpoint Lac Cascapédia. The trail goes on until the intersection where is checkpoint, Refuge de La Mésange. The racers continue to Mont Blizzard (976 m) and Mont Arthur-Allen (980m) summits to arrive half of the race at Refuge Lac Thibault. For the way back, the racers take the same way they came, passing by La Cascapédia, Refuge  la Paruline and arrive at Versant junction. Then, they will start a technical and steep descent in La Grande Cuve Mont-Albert to arrive at checkpoint La Serpentine. Last summit to climb, Mont Olivine to finally going down to the Village finishing 111km La Grande Traversée. 

The racers will climb 14 summits in total going from medium to hard technical with an altitude from 670m and 1088m.

Aid stations:

 

Going : refuge La Paruline (solid and liquid) (18,7 km), Lac Cascapédia (solid and liquid) (27,1 km), jonction pic de l’aube (41,7 km), refuge du Lac Thibault (52,3 km).

 

Way back : pic de l’aube juntion (62,8 km), Lac Cascapédia (solid and liquid) (77,4 km), refuge La Paruline (85,8 km), abri La Serpentine (100,1 km), Village (111,5 km).

Time limit

 

25 hours

 

Awards podium

 

Saturday at 8 p.m.

 

ITRA points

 

5 (confirmation in process) (click here for more information on ITRA points)

 

Registration includes:

 

Registering include : participation fees, access to the Gaspésie National Park fees, timing, race time results details, secured and marked trails, checkpoints with liquid and solid items, ravito at the Village, qualified first aid teams, medals, podiums and prices, toilets and showers’ access, one picture of you on the trail, one beer coupon, music and gatherings on the site, drop bags logistic.

Cost

 

Individual     $365
Team of 2     $195 each
Team of 3     $145 each
Team of 4     $120 each

Taxes are included.

  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

DATE, HEURE, ENDROIT DE DÉPART

 

Le samedi 4 JUILLET 2020

Début de la course à 4 h

Village UTCC, stationnement VR, route 14, près du centre de découvertes et de services du parc national de la Gaspésie.

LE SAMEDI 4 JUILLET 2020

LA GRANDE TRAVERSÉE (111 KM)

La Grande Traversée est l’épreuve reine de l’UTCC 2020. Avec un parcours cumulant environ 5700 mètres de dénivelé positif, cette course constitue l’un des parcours les plus difficiles en Amérique du Nord. Cette course aller-retour s’effectue en semi-autonomie. Vous devrez franchir neuf sommets étant majoritairement au-dessus de la barre des 900 mètres d’altitude.

INFORMATIONS

 

Trail aller-retour en semi-autonomie comprenant huit sites de ravitaillement, dont trois sites de provisions solides et liquides. Des équipes de premiers soins seront installées à ces points de ravitaillement, ainsi que des premiers soins également sur le reste du parcours.

18 ans et plus.

 

Distance : 113 km

Dénivelé: 5700m D+

Limite de coureurs :

 

100 coureurs

Parcours :

 

Course à formule aller-retour, le départ et l’arrivée se font au Village UTCC. Au départ, les coureurs se dirigent vers le sommet du Mont-Albert (1088m), passent par le plateau du sommet, et redescendent la face sud pour se diriger vers le ravito de la Paruline. Ensuite, ils prennent la direction du Mont du Milieu (950m) et du Mont Ells (1000m) pour arriver au ravito du lac Cascapédia … Le sentier se poursuit jusqu’au ravito à l’intersection du refuge La Mésange. Les coureurs continuent donc vers les sommets du Mont Blizzard (976 m) et du Mont Arthur-Allen (980m) pour arriver à mi-parcours au refuge du Lac Thibault. Pour le retour, ils reviennent sur leurs pas jusqu’au Lac Cascapédia puis jusqu’à la Paruline pour ensuite arriver à la jonction du Versant. Ils entameront à ce moment une descente très technique dans la grande cuve du Mt-Albert pour arriver au ravito de la Serpentine et vers l’ultime ascension celle du Mont-Olivine (670m) et finir la grande traversée au village. 

Les coureurs graviront, en tout, 14 sommets allant de moyennement technique à très technique, et ayant une altitude variant entre 670m et 1088 m.

Points de ravitaillement :

 

À l’aller : refuge La Paruline (solide et liquide) (18,7 km), Lac Cascapédia (solide et liquide) (27,1 km), jonction pic de l’aube (41,7 km), refuge du Lac Thibault (52,3 km).

Au retour : jonction pic de l’aube (62,8 km), Lac Cascapédia (solide et liquide) (77,4 km), refuge La Paruline (85,8 km), abri La Serpentine (100,1 km), arrivée au village (111,5 km).

Limite de temps :

 

25 heures

 

Remise prix podium :

 

Le dimanche 5 juillet à 11 h

 

Point ITRA :

 

5 (validation en cours) (cliquez ici pour plus d'infos sur les points ITRA

 

L’inscription comprend :

 

Frais de participation, frais d’accès au parc national de la Gaspésie, chronométrage, résultats détaillés des temps, parcours balisé et sécurisé, ravitaillements sur le parcours, ravitaillement d’après-course, premiers soins qualifiés, médaille, cérémonie des podiums, accès aux toilettes et aux douches, une photo de vous sur le parcours, coupon pour une bière, animation sur le site, logistique de sac de dépôt.

Tarification :

 

Individuelle          365 $
Équipe de 2         195 $ chacun
Équipe de 3         145 $ chacun
Équipe de 4         120 $ chacun

Tous les prix incluent les taxes.

Coupe topographique et carte du parcours

(Application Google Earth requise, disponible également en application mobile)

  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook